A little bit about ME, ME, ME!

Happy Wednesday everyone! The sun is shining, the breeze is blowing, and the heat isn’t nearly as bad today here in Seattle. Yesterday, I talked a little about why I started this new blog and promised to give a little background about myself today. Of course, I won’t write my autobiography – I am saving that for when I am famous, do something so stupid I become famous for it, or just really need the money later in life – but I am going to try to tell you a little about myself so you have a little understanding of where I come from and why I think the way I do…sound good? Great! I knew you would agree 🙂

Me and my thumbs up!

Me and my thumbs up!

Alrighty, here goes… I was born and raised in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. I went to school for my undergraduate degree in Sports Management and Business at The University of Tennessee (GO VOLS!)…I sure hope I don’t have a lot of typos or I know the jokes will start coming. I was a Phi Mu during college and still pay my dues so for now – I guess the saying “Phi Mu is for life” is true…although they (a few people) tried to get me to quit my senior year…we can see how well that worked! After college, I packed my things and moved to San Antonio, Texas, where I began my career with the company I currently work for. I had never been to San Antonio, visited where I would be working, or knew a single person but I got there a week before my job started and hoped for the best. That adventure lasted all of 18 months…some might say that was 17 too long 🙂 I learned a lot while I was there – some just from experiences and some from mistakes…well, since I learned from them, I don’t consider them mistakes…maybe just a life lesson! After San Antonio, I moved to Philadelphia…again, not knowing a single person or visiting the site but I thought – what they heck…if I don’t like it, I will just move again! I reached out the alumni chapter and met a wonderful Phi Mu who let me live with her while I waited for my things to arrive and searched for an apartment. She is still one of my dearest friends and one of the great things about Phi Mu. I stayed in Philly for….wait for it…18 months! I would say that while some things there were a challenge (people were brutally honest) it was one of the best experiences I have had – I loved the culture, the city, the people, and the proximity to so many cool places with sporting arenas! Upon leaving Philly, I moved to Seattle, Washington and have been here for a little over two and half years! Can you believe it? I didn’t get the 18 month itch! My current job has given me the opportunity to travel extensively and even live in Japan for 6 months (amazing experience and you can read about it on my old blog). I have not made a lot of friends here due to my crazy work life and have often questioned “what is wrong with me” but have recently found that it isn’t something I have done wrong – it is just the way life is right now. I do have some amazing friends (shout out to Kim and Diane) that I know are always there for me. I have recently started to focus on me and my happiness and that means leaving some things/people in the past and making room for the amazing new people I am meeting. I am starting to venture out and embrace the area and what it has to offer but I am not doing it without bringing my southern roots with me. I am done dressing “granola” to try to fit in…I am back to my skirts, dresses, and heels and let me just say…it feels good! I am not perfect and do not claim to be. I have made plenty of mistakes life lessons during my time and although they are painful to go through – I am thankful that I have. I have worried about things outside of my control, I have thought beauty was only skin deep, I have dated and hung around the wrong people (negative people), I have let my insecurities keep me from being the best version of myself. Well, let me tell you – that stops now! I am focusing on me, my health, and my happiness. The journey might be difficult in a place where people’s mood depends on the weather (seriously – the sun is out, people are nice and vice versa) but it is a journey that I willing to take…and share with you.

I have an amazing family – not going to lie, they can get on my nerves, drive my crazy, and make me cry in family pictures but I wouldn’t trade them for the world. We are all unique in our own way but each and every one of them has had some soft of impact on shaping me to be who I am today. I am extremely quirky and I own my dorkiness! I have an amazing zest for life and love to explore other places. I work hard and hold myself to extremely high standards. I love photography and am always the one taking tons of pictures. What can I say – I like to capture the memories. I love my niece unconditionally and wish I had the same relationship with my nephews…one day, right? I still want my mom when I am sick – even though she is a terrible nurse! I love getting my morning text message from my dad and worry if he forgets to send it. I do most things in life with the hopes of making my family proud. I do not like failure and quite frankly – am petrified of it. I love sports and the outdoors…and from reading this blog entry – I can tell I like to type a lot and skip around from one topic to another…I guess that is a side effect of not taking medicine for your ADD! I love having great teeth and enjoy showing them off in pictures. Speaking of pictures – I tend to do thumbs up in pictures…Believe it or not, I am quite the introvert…totally fine by myself, would prefer to be alone (except if my niece is around), and can sit in a room of 1,000 people, not say a word and be totally okay! One thing on my bucket list is to see a game at every Major League Baseball Park.

Me and dad at a MLB park

Me and dad at a MLB park

Me and my niece

Me and my niece

I am sure your head is spinning by now with all of the random facts about me. If you know me and have anything you want to add about me – please feel free to leave a comment. If there is ever anything you would like me to write about – shoot me an email or leave a comment. Hope you enjoyed my novel today… now I am off to enjoy the sunshine again…day two! WooHoo!

Until next time….xoxo – Julie

One thought on “A little bit about ME, ME, ME!

Leave a Reply

