Happy 4th of July

Happy 4th of July!

Happy 4th of July!

Happy 4th of July everyone! I absolutely love holidays; however, the last few years, I seem to get a little sad around them. I am such a family person and to me, holidays are about being with family and I am not able to do that as much since moving to Seattle. Fortunately, I have a friends here who open their home to me during the various holidays and treat me as family. I even pack a bag and crash at their place – thanks Kim, Beau, and Tali!

This morning I woke up early, ate some cereal, drank my coffee, and read my book. Apparently, I was still a little tired because I took a nap. I normally don’t take naps but for some reason the last week I have taken a few. I am not complaining at all – sometimes, you just need to bring out the inner kindergartener in you 🙂 By the way, when did they take nap time away from little ones?!?! I made my new “go-to” cookies to bring to the Bannerman BBQ – hopefully Beau shares this time 🙂 I was going to use the good ole holiday excuse not to work out but decided to push through a work out so I could enjoy a said cookie later. I am now sitting here stinky and sweaty while I enjoy a red, white, and blue smoothie (strawberries, blueberries, vanilla almond milk, and greek yogurt) to get into the patriotic spirit. I have been wanting to make this recipe I recently pinned on Pintrest but know it isn’t very healthy but am thinking I can use the “apple pie is so American” excuse so why not make it on this very American Holiday?!?!

Do you have any great recipes that you like to make on the 4th of July? I know my Granny V would have made deviled eggs and potato salad…but the Bannerman bunch doesn’t eat southern comfort food like that so I figured I will save that for when I head home one holiday…hope the Bannerman bunch and the boys men Kim invited over enjoy desserts!

Have a wonderful and safe 4th of the July! Until next time…xoxo – Julie

One thought on “Happy 4th of July

Leave a Reply

