Milk Carton…not just for holding milk

Most of use milk cartons for holding milk but in Seattle…they use them for holding people in water. Since I am not traveling for work the second half of the year, I am getting the opportunity to experience some of the neat things/events that Seattle has to offer. I am extremely lucky to have great friends who think to tell me about fun things going on or I wouldn’t know about 99% of the things.

This weekend, my sweet friend Diane invited me to go with her to the Milk Carton Derby. I had no idea what to expect other than having a good time with a great friend. I must say, I was surprised at how big the event was, how much stuff they had going on, and how creative people got with the boats. The weather was absolutely beautiful which made the day that much better. The sun was shining, the breeze was blowing, and the few clouds in the sky were gorgeous!

Absolutely gorgeous day!

Absolutely gorgeous day!

One of the boats before racing

One of the boats before racing

Another boat racing

Another boat racing

Some of the boats racing...

Some of the boats racing…

 

 

 

 

 

 

After watching the boat races, we took a stroll around Greenlake which was wonderful – I even ran into someone I knew from San Antonio! Small world, right? We had a delicious lunch on the patio and then finished our walk to the car. Overall, I would say it was a fabulous day experiencing my first dose of Seafair…so fabulous, I slept until noon the next day!

Leave a Reply

