Manners – it is A-OK to have them!

Print

Think about this next time you don’t use your manners…little eyes are watching – and learning!

Newsflash people in the Pacific Northwest…it is completely okay to have and use your manners. One thing I have noticed since moving to Seattle is that people do not use their manners as much as people do in the south. I try not to let it bother me; however, sometimes I have a hard time letting it go…especially when it is adults not using their manners since they are the ones who are showing the future generations how to behave. I don’t know about you but it really irks me when I hold the door for someone (especially a man) and they do not say “Thank you”. It took me more effort to hold the door for you than the effort it would have taken you to say “Thank you”. I have thought about just letting the door slam in their face but I have taken a new approach and politely calling them out after I do something nice. For instance, when I hold the door for someone and they do not say “Thank you” I say, in the nicest voice possible, “You are welcome”. I must say, 9 out of 10 times, the person turns around, with a shocked look on their face, and says “Oh! Thank you”. I am sure the embarrassment they felt then will remind them to use their manners next time. Then, there is that 1 out of 10 that continues walking and doesn’t say anything (usually because they are too busy missing life by messing around on their phone). That person is usually accompanied by a small child which is what upsets me the most – that is the example they are setting for that child. I can only hope that the child sees the manners I use and can learn from the example I am trying to set. I know I cannot change the fact that people in Seattle do not use their manners like we are taught to do in the south; however, I do know that I can continue to use my manners like I was taught and hope it rubs off on others. Using my manners might make me stick out a little but I would rather stick out in this case than fit in.

Be true to yourself - be the fruit loop!

Be true to yourself – be the fruit loop!

Thank you for reading and until next time – xoxo – Julie

Leave a Reply

