A weekend dash to Denver

Most people dread going to the airport – well not me. Since I have not been traveling for work, I really started to miss the energy of the airport. Little note: the only time I get anxious there is when I have to put my suitcase on the scale 🙂 Since I have not been getting my fill of traveling for work, I thought it would be fun to take a personal trip – which is what I did last weekend when I dashed to Denver to visit my younger cousin, Lesley.

My awesome cousin, Lesley!

My awesome cousin, Lesley!

Lesley just finished her freshman year at Rice University and has been interning at Cochlear this summer. I have never been to Denver before (except for layovers) and thought why not see my cousin, a new city, and mark another ballpark off my list (my goal is to see a game at every MLB stadium)…and I did exactly that – with a few more amazing things mixed in.

Neither of us had really made an itinerary for the weekend other than going to the baseball game so we played most of the weekend by ear. Friday night, we decided to go the Denver Botanic Gardens. The weather was absolutely perfect that night – light drizzle at the beginning which made for amazing rainbows and views.

They had two perfect rainbows at one point!

They had two perfect rainbows at one point!

Me and Lesley in the gardens

Me and Lesley in the gardens

This could seriously be a postcard - yeah, I take great pictures.

This could seriously be a postcard – yeah, I take great pictures.

I love botanic gardens – or just being outdoors in general, so I was extremely happy we chose that for our Friday activity. I was even more excited when I found out that they had the Chihuly exhibit going on during that time., I went to the Chihuly Museum in Seattle when Jess and AnnaBelle came to visit and loved it – but mixing it in with the beautiful flowers, trees, water, and gardens was made his work that much more breathtaking!

Me and Lesley in front of one of the many exhibits

Me and Lesley in front of one of the many exhibits

One of the exhibits with a rainbow in the background

One of the exhibits with a rainbow in the background

Absolutely beautiful work!

Absolutely beautiful work!

Love this one!

Love this one!

Saturday was a busy day for us. We woke up and went to what we read was the biggest farmer’s market in Denver (don’t always believe what you read) – Cherry Creek Farmer’s Market. We walked around and grabbed a little snack to bring with us to Washington Park. We sat by the water to enjoy our snack and then decided to take a walk around the park. The weather was gorgeous and the atmosphere was great (I would definitely hang out there if I lived in the area).

My delicious, not the least bit healthy, snack!

My delicious, not the least bit healthy, snack!

Our view while was snacked and chatted.

Our view while was snacked and chatted.

On our way back to the hotel for an afternoon nap during the rain storm, we stopped and had another super healthy snack, home-made ice cream! We took a little nap while the rain came down and then headed over to the ballpark for the game at Coors Field. We parked for $3 (which is a killer deal if you ask me), got tickets for $15 a piece (again, another awesome deal), and some ballpark snacks for less than $20 (another awesome deal if you ask me). The weather was absolutely beautiful, the fans were great, the park was nice, and the game was exciting – 3 homeruns!

Beautiful night for baseball!

Beautiful night for baseball!

I love a good ballpark hotdog!

I love a good ballpark hotdog!

Me and Lesley at the game

Me and Lesley at the game

I had such an amazing weekend but before I could head home, I had to try a Denver breakfast (everyone says that is the meal they do best). Anyone who knows me, knows that I love brunch, so why not try out one of the Denver’s most well-known brunch spots (where the wait time is well over an hour), Snooze! The wait was long, the ambiance was pretty cool, and the food was delicious!

Worth every bit of the wait!

Worth every bit of the wait!

I was sad for the weekend to come to an end but was so happy I made the weekend dash over to Denver! There were lots of reminders of Seattle during the trip but it was nice to get away for the weekend.

Until next time…xoxo – Julie

 

Leave a Reply

