A “ferry” fun weekend :)

I never like to wait a while in between blog posts; however, I had been on the go so much that I decided to take a weekend (or two) to relax and get caught up on things that come with being an adult (cleaning, laundry, cleaning, and laundry). This past weekend turned out to be a pleasant surprise full of fun with some very “Seattle” things included. I started my weekend off with a dance party at the gym (aka, zumba). I thought I was going to take a quick little power nap and then meet up with some friends…yeah, thought was the keyword there. I ended up going to bed at 9:45pm and I have no shame in that either. I also have no shame admitting that I slept until 7:30am the next morning. I would like to say that both of those are rare but that would be lying – I don’t usually sleep that late! I woke up Saturday, started some laundry and then thought about what I would do to enjoy the beautiful weather we had in Seattle. I decided to head down to Greenlake to enjoy the sunshine and try out my new running shoes.

YAY for new running shoes!

YAY for new running shoes!

The weather was awesome, the new shoes were fantastic, and the run was wonderful. The sun was shining and a cool breeze was blowing throughout the run. I must say, I couldn’t complain.

Post run selfie :) trying to get some sun while working out!

Post run selfie 🙂 trying to get some sun while working out!

After the run, I stopped by Starbucks to get an iced tea and sit outside to people watch. I was lucky enough to have my friend, Rachel, come meet me and have great conversation – always a good time with her. Saturday finished up with a haircut (trim, can’t cut too much off since I am growing it out again for Locks of Love) and drinks with a friend. I woke up bright and early on Sunday to help a friend (loan the back of my car for transporting goods) then had my weekly brunch meeting (it might be a “thing” now) with Kim. We tried a new place this time – Alexa’s Cafe in Bothell. It had a cute atmosphere and good food – definitely worth going to if I don’t want to drive to my usual spots (Pomegranate Bistro and Brown Bag Cafe). After brunch, I ran to the grocery to get food for the week (yes, I am one of those people who is a one and done for the week) and then came home and started the prep process. Right as I was finishing up, I got a text message from my friend who I was going to meet that night so I jumped in the shower and got ready. I got ready super fast (for me at least) and jumped in the car and zoomed over to catch the Edmonds/Kingston Ferry – it was a beautiful day for a ferry ride so I was not going to miss that and be stuck driving 80 miles around to the “island”.

Beautiful view on the ride over

Beautiful view on the ride over

I had dinner and fabulous conversation with my friend and then we scooted over to the movies to see “Let’s Be Cops“…for those of you who really know me, don’t worry – I didn’t bring my movie blanket since it was the first movie outing with him – that comes next time 🙂 The movie was funny and a good pick on his part. I will admit, I had to control my laughter so I wouldn’t embarrass myself (I didn’t want to pull a “my dad” on a first movie outing with someone). After the movie ended, he brought me back to my car and we parted ways..until we decided to turn around and meet back up. It “might” have been late and I “might” have had to work in the morning but the conversation at dinner was so good I couldn’t pass up the opportunity for more. I mean, I could sit in line for the ferry or I could sit with a friend enjoying their company – of course I am picking their company. We talked until after midnight when we decided to really part ways this time. I scooted on over to  catch the last ferry out of Bainbridge Island – got there with two minutes to spare 🙂 The ferry ride back was absolutely stunning. The Seattle skyline was lit up and the moon was bright and shining. I sat on the deck, wrapped in my blanket, admiring how beautiful and peaceful that moment was. I captured a picture but will admit, it does absolutely no justice for what I felt that moment. It was really one of those times, you just had to be there. I might have gotten home late that night and had to get up early the next day but I would do it all over again – it was a perfect night with a phenomenal ending! I might just have to ride the 1:25am Bainbridge ferry ride more often 🙂

View from the ferry ride back to Seattle

View from the ferry ride back to Seattle

Until next time…xoxo – Julie

2 thoughts on “A “ferry” fun weekend :)

Leave a Reply

