Took a time-out from Seattle…and blogging

Well hello there readers! My apologies for being MIA lately. Things have been changing quite a bit which threw my schedule off! I promise not to let so much time pass again between blog posts. So, I took a time-out from Seattle about 10 days to take a little trip before I started my new job! Yep – you heard read that right – a new job! We will talk about that in a future post but for now – I am going to talk about my amazing trip back to the south!

I landed late that night and my dad picked from the airport. On the way home, we made a pit stop at the Huddle House to get him a FREE milkshake and to get me a little snack since I had not eaten all day!

Dad and his milkshake...one happy guy right there!

Dad and his milkshake…one happy guy right there!

Keeping up with the whole food thing – my sister convinced me to go eat at the hospital (something she does often with Rachel) and I must say…it was a rather pleasant surprise…grilled cheese, french fries, and this delicious cake! Yep – I didn’t healthy when I was at home 🙂

This was so delicious...and so not good for me!

This was so delicious…and so not good for me!

Me, my sister, and AnnaBelle were going to head up there Friday after AnnaBelle got after school but in true Jessica fashion, she wasn’t packed and ready to go so we planned to leave Saturday morning so we could take AnnaBelle to Boomsday that night. Go figure – we didn’t leave then either so we woke up early Sunday morning and headed towards Knoxville. I wasn’t going to let anything keep me from taking AnnaBelle to her first Tennessee football game at Neyland Stadium around the same age I went! We got to Liz’s house and ran to the grocery store to get some chips, chips, and more chips for “tailgating” before the game.

AnnaBelle with all the chips for tailgating!

AnnaBelle with all the chips for tailgating!

We loaded up the car and headed towards campus to get the football day started. We had a laid-back tailgate, walked around campus a little, caught up with an old friend of mine (Emily), and even got to see the Vol Walk!

AnnaBelle before the game!

AnnaBelle before the game!

AnnaBelle watching the band march into the stadium!

AnnaBelle watching the band march into the stadium!

Me and Emily...10 years later from when it all began!

Me and Emily…10 years later from when it all began!

Although it rained a little before the game started, we had an amazing time! AnnaBelle took another expensive nap during the first quarter but she was singing Rocky Top by the time the game ended!

Little rain never hurt!

Little rain never hurt!

We had a great time! Thanks to Liz for getting us great seats!

We had a great time! Thanks to Liz for getting us great seats!

AnnaBelle bonded with Liz’s dog, Louie – I think the picture says it all. Of course, I had to take AnnaBelle by the Phi Mu house so she could see where she will be living in 10 years…and to take a picture in front…I hope to get another one of her on Bid Day in that same spot! Yep – I am cheesy – I know!

AnnaBelle and Louie

AnnaBelle and Louie

My little Phi Mu!

My little Phi Mu!

We had a great weekend in Knoxville and look forward to another trip up there soon (wonder if AnnaBelle will be saying Roll Tide or Go VOLS when she goes up for the game)! Unfortunately, when we got home, my sister and AnnaBelle’s dog, Cota had taken a turn for the worse and we had to say our good-bye. It was a very sad night but we know Cota is another star in the sky looking down on us and enjoying being with her many brothers and sisters in heaven!

We had to take a trip up to Children’s Hospital on Tuesday so AnnaBelle could get some blood work done – she is such a brave little girl. We even snuck a few masks out with us to play doctor on the way home.

My brave little girl!

My brave little girl!

She was so strong and had just one little tear that we stopped for lunch and some shopping on the way home. She picked out a James Avery bracelet this time…oh the rewards just get more and more expensive!

The rest of the week consisted of lots of eating, hanging with friends, celebrating dad’s birthday, painting with my little princess, and lots of time spent with family!

Me and AnnaBelle at dinner before painting...

Me and AnnaBelle at dinner before painting…

Me and AnnaBelle with our paintings!

Me and AnnaBelle with our paintings!

Summer Snow with my girl!

Summer Snow with my girl!

It was sad to see my trip coming to an end…until we got an unexpected surprise! We found out that AnnaBelle’s new kitty, Cupcakes, wasn’t a kitty after all….she was a mommy with four kittens of her own…or as I called them – her sprinkles. They were so cute and we were in love instantly. We fed them, loved on them, and maybe smothered them a little with some attention. Welcome to the family Shabbat, Shalom, Mitzvah, and Matzo!

Sweet thing hadn't even open it's eyes!

Sweet thing hadn’t even open it’s eyes!

Oh, hey there sweetness!

Oh, hey there sweetness!

Exploring what this milk stuff was....

Exploring what this milk stuff was….

I had such an incredible trip it was hard for me to leave…so hard, that I almost missed my flight (yep, they were calling my name for the final warning) as I (and the TSA agents were waving bye to AnnaBelle). I was doing everything possible to spend a little more time with them – even went through security to get food (yeah, BHM didn’t think their renovation through all the way) and bring it back out to have a picnic before leaving.

Little picnic before leaving

Little picnic before leaving

I always enjoy my trips home but absolutely hate leaving. Good thing is, I know I will be back soon. Until next time…XOXO – Julie!

Leave a Reply

