Baseball, boating, and a concert with friends…two great weekends!

I am beginning to like Seattle (big change from a year or so ago) but sometimes, I just have to get away. I am starting to get the itch again for a trip so I figured why not revisit the last trip I took to see Leana for a quick escape from the day to day life in Seattle. The sun is currently shining here and the heat is making me tired – but nothing compared to the weekend I spent in Phoenix with Leana Layfield for baseball and boating.

As you know, or can catch up on in this post, I went to visit Leana for Phi Mu Founder’s Day in May and really enjoyed the women and felt at home with the alumni chapter. During the luncheon they mentioned an upcoming event, Phi Mu’s night at the ballpark, where the group gets a suite at the Diamondback’s game. For those of you who personally know me – you know I LOVE baseball so of course, this was definitely an event I thought about coming down for (especially since I could mark that stadium off my list)! As the weekend got closer, in typical Leana fashion, she sent me an itinerary: fly in Thursday night, sleep in Friday, baseball Friday night, day at the lake with MeetUp group, Get out there Arizona on Saturday, and fly out Sunday morning. Can you see why I love visiting Leana (all I have to worry about is booking my flights). The weekend went exactly as planned: baseball, boating, and tons of fun!

I always have to get a picture with the field behind me...

I always have to get a picture with the field behind me…

Me and Leana Layfield at the baseball game

Me and Leana Layfield at the baseball game

And we are in the water....the group was awesome - so welcoming!

And we are in the water….the group was awesome – so welcoming!

Me and Leana Layfield enjoying the sun, water, and friends

Me and Leana Layfield enjoying the sun, water, and friends

"Take a sexy picture!" and this is what I produce! HAHA!

“Take a sexy picture!” and this is what I produce! HAHA!

Such a beautiful and relaxing day!

Such a beautiful and relaxing day!

I came back from Phoenix feeling refreshed, sunburned (I put on sunscreen but forgot the scalp), and ready for the next weekend. Although I had to work the next weekend, I was looking forward to the Kenny Chesney and Jason Aldean concert and Century Link Field. My good friend, Elizabeth Morrow, saw the concert herself down south (where they get lots of country concerts) and told me it was definitely worth going (even though I would be getting home late and not much sleep)…so I said…alright – who cares if I only get two hours of sleep that night before going to work the next day! I thought I was going to have to go alone but I had a friend (he shall remain nameless) decide to go with me so “I wouldn’t be the weirdo going alone” (his exact words). We had a great time – even though we walked around the ENTIRE stadium before getting to our seats (let’s just say, the signage and the directions given weren’t that clear) but it was okay since we had a beer (or two) in hand 🙂 The concert was awesome – and definitely worth being tired the next day!

In between acts...

In between acts…

The weather was perfect for an outdoor concert!

The weather was perfect for an outdoor concert!

The sun was starting to go down making it a beautiful view!

The sun was starting to go down making it a beautiful view!

Slowing things down and bringing the "lighters" out...

Slowing things down and bringing the “lighters” out…

I was exhausted after two long weekends but the memories made were totally worth it! Until next time…xoxo…Julie

Leave a Reply

