Crock Pottin’ 2.0

I enjoy cooking and by cooking, [lately] I mean making a fabulous meal in the crock pot. Some people spend hour(s) in the kitchen after getting home from work to whip a meal for their dinner table. Me? I simply get up 15 minutes earlier (or go to work with wet hair if I want to sleep until normal wake up time) to throw everything in the crock pot when I am preparing a meal these days. I posted Crock Pottin’ in February which had some wonderful recipes I had recently tried…and tonight, I bring you Crock Potting 2.0! I am trying to remember to take better pictures..this time is better but I really need to do a better job in the future so the meals actually look good!

I had been on a chicken “kick” lately and heard a few complaints stories of the jokes between my dinner partner and some guys at work. Apparently, the other guy had gone out to eat with friends at a hamburger joint and my dinner buddy said, “I don’t think I will see a burger, or beef for that matter, in a long time! All she feeds me now is chicken or ground turkey! She makes me eat healthy!” I laughed and said, you want cow – I will give you cow…and that is just what he got!

Of course, my first stop that Sunday was ole faithful…Pintrest! After seeing the stews and cabbage and corn beef at the St Patrick’s Day party that Saturday and the weather still being a little chilly, I decided to look up crock pot beef stew. I found a recipe that looked simple yet tasty and decided to give it a try. I usually don’t read the reviews on a recipe but something that night made me keep scrolling past the recipe and was so glad that I did. I noticed that a lot people said they wouldn’t use as much ketchup if they made it again because it was overpowering. I decided not to use as much ketchup…in fact, for the first time in a long time, I didn’t bust out the measuring the cups…I just gave one big squirt of ketchup (probably 1/3 of what it calls for). I also added in a little of BBQ sauce (figured it might give a little sweetness to offset the ketchup) – again, didn’t measure, just a big squirt. When I got home from work, the house smelled so good – I jut knew the beef stew was going to be awesome. It made so much that we got to enjoy it for dinner Monday and lunch the next two days.

WP_20160317_10_41_02_Pro

Leftover beef stew and garlic bread for lunch

Due to our schedule that week, I decided to go ahead and cook another meal in the crock pot Tuesday so we could have dinner that night and the follow few nights. I usually cook Monday and Wednesday and just make it work leftover-wise. Tuesday I made a chicken dish (don’t worry, I made up for it later that week when he got more moo-moo)…crock pot creamy ranch chicken. I forgot to add the milk that morning so I put it in right when I got home…and I don’t think anyone would notice…but I will do it right next time :). I forgot to take a picture of that one…oopsie – it was just that good. During dinner, we talked about how good the meals had been and then I realized, they were from the same blog. I had not noticed it since I found them on Pintrest but I definitely go to the blog to search for things now 🙂

Those meals made so much food, we didn’t have to cook again until the weekend. We got take-out for dinner Friday (which is usually our night to go out to dinner) and thought about our plans for the weekend. The only thing I had planned was a coffee date with a friend I know from when I first started working in 2008 – Little did we know that we would both end up in Seattle years after meeting in San Antonio. Since I had been fighting getting whatever yucky-ness is going around, we decided to have a low-key, relaxing weekend. My dinner buddy kept mentioning making french dip sandwiches. He said we just needed bread, cheese, roast beef, and “juice”. Well, that wasn’t going to work for me. In typical me-fashion, I got on Pintrest and found a crock pot recipe for french dip sandwiches. We ran to the grocery, picked up our items, came home, and threw them in the crock pot. I was a little nervous about the recipe but let me tell you – it was delicious! We had them for dinner the Monday night and he enjoyed the meat with BBQ sauce on bread for lunch today. This is definitely a great recipe for the weekend – or really anytime!

WP_20160319_19_56_25_Pro

Night one…not sure why it keeps turning my picture!

WP_20160321_18_55_24_Pro

Night two…side of asparagus and a salad…again, not sure why it is rotating the picture!

I think it is safe to say that he has not had a shortage of cow, beef, moo moo lately so he can’t really complain about having chicken tonight…that recipe coming soon.

Until next time…xoxo…Julie

 

Leave a Reply

